At this time, anyone who is enrolled in a course in Canvas as a Teacher has the ability to add Teaching Assistants and Designers using People > Add People found in a course's Course Navigation Menu.
Roles
Teaching Assistants (TAs): TAs have the same rights in a course as instructors with two exceptions: TAs are not listed as instructors, and TAs do not have permission to add users to the course. WARNING: Providing an enrolled student with the TA role will elevate their permissions such that the student can then see their classmates' grades and personal information, while removing their ability to submit assignments.
Designers: Designers have full editing rights to the course but cannot grade student work or view the Gradebook.
How to Enroll Users
Instructors can access their course, then follow the steps below to add users:
- In the left-hand Course Navigation Menu, click "People."
- On the People page, click the blue "+People" button in the upper-right corner.
- On the Add People window, select "Add user(s) by: Login ID" and enter the desired user's username (in abc123 format) in the Login IDs box. Note that you can enter multiple usernames separated by a comma.
- Use the "Role" dropdown to select the desired role.
- Click "Next," then confirm the listed users and click "Add Users" to finish adding them to the course.
The user will now appear on the People page as “pending” as the user has not yet accepted the invitation to the course. The user will receive a course invitation in their email inbox. Once they log into Canvas and accept the course invitation, they will be enrolled in the course.
Please note that additional instructors, as well as students, cannot be added or removed through this tool, as those roles are managed by the Banner Student Information System.
Multiple Roles in a Single Course
Users should not have more than one role in a single course. If a student is enrolled in a course in Banner, then that user should only have the student role in Canvas. Providing an enrolled student with the TA role will elevate their permissions such that the student can then see their classmates' grades and personal information, while removing their ability to submit assignments.